Baywatch (2017) ‘We’re the heart and soul of this very beach’ Review

BaywatchBar.jpg

Baywatch, such a nostalgic programme for all its fans, true? and now we are all graced with it surfing onto the big screen with an outstanding lead cast. Naturally I had to see this release, the trailer egged it on, made it seem this is a definite must see and I have never wanted to see a film again straight after the ending credits begun since Deadpool and Pirates of the Caribbean 5 (which I recently saw), Baywatch beat the original expectations I had for it and to be fair couldn’t be more pleased that it did.

So Baywatch sees the crew of lifeguards Lt Mitch Buchanan (Dwayne Johnson), Brody (Zac Efron), CJ (Kelly Rohrbach), Summer (Alexandra Daddario), Stephanie (Ilfenesh Hadera) and Ronnie (Jon Bass) uncover a new drug based criminal plot lead by villainess diva Victoria Leeds (Priyanka Chopra) that seeks out to threaten the future of the bay. I am aware there are gonna be a few that are wondering why is Dwayne Johnson is starring in a film like this? – but I can tell you that bloke can do no wrong, the guy is a legend, the don if every way!! He embodies the character of Mitch perfectly to the point I couldn’t see any faults and Priyanka Chopra shines as a wannabe drug lord. One thing I just have to blurt out i’m sorry for the spoiler but the film sees the best two cameos at the hands of the original cast of Baywatch: David Hasselhoff and the one and only Pamela Anderson – fucking get in!! happy days!!

I must praise the cinematography and direction with this film. The focus on bringing out those bright colours of the beach, the sea and the peoples eyes was very pleasing to the eye. Now it wouldn’t be a Baywatch film now would it if there wasn’t the over use of slow motion, that cliche slow run in a bathing suit with the focus being on the attractive girls breasts bouncing up and down, that long slick wavy hair flowing down behind her shoulders in sync with the wind, that erotic undertone – not that i’m complaining, I would haha, kidding… or am I?!, if you know you know… anyway I felt slow motion was overly used and unnecessary in some scenes, the exception given the beach babe run obviously but scenes such as a jetski in the air, the diving into the sea, it just was over done in my opinion. In hand goes the melodrama of it all. I understand the need in some scenes to make it look major and hella dramatic but sometimes it just seems ridiculous. A scene with the boat set on fire and the team all go to the emergency scene with Mitch (Dwayne Johnson) casually going into this fire infested room which would be impossible for a lifeguard or even maybe a fire fighter to go in and save those trapped. Then for Brody to prove himself to the team jumps into the scene swimming under the flames but fails to either help those in need and himself –  I know i’m probably looking into too much like its just a scene but I can’t help myself. Lastly this whole gun cliche of the villain wanting to kill the hero but can’t because someone steps in to delay the murder until suddenly something happens and the villain gets killed. It drives me insane like if someone wanted to kill them they would do in the seconds that it takes, surely? – but this is the rule most films if not all follow and I just have to suck it up. 

This film is constantly full of humour, I really must praise the script writing because it’s just pun after pun, sexual innuendo and banter after the other. With neverending comments such as ‘Malibu Ken’ ‘Justin Bieber’ ‘High school Musical’ in reference to the appearance of Brody (Zac Efron). Like with most films they rely on just one character or two to provide the comic relief, however in this film the comic relief is provided by the majority of the cast. Such as the head to head competition between both Mitch and Brody, Mitch and police officer, Cj and Ronnie, Dave and Ronnie and Ronnie solo. I must say though one scene to look out for that will mentally destroy you with immense hilarity is when Mitch, Brody and Summer are in the morgue at the hospital – Not gonna say what happens because it’ll ruin the moment, but all I can say is that scene is beyond words!!  The humour is unreal leaving audiences constantly giggling and in fits of laughter – My cheeks and stomach hurt quite a bit so beware if you laugh at almost anything like myself, it’ll hurt to be happy haha!!

Now the soundtrack, I mean it’s very rare I watch a film and like the entire soundtrack but this has blown it out of the water. Tune after tune, giving those beachy vibes so it’s hard to sit there and not enjoy it – if anything me and my mates were jigging here and there singing along. Other song choices were cheesy but definitely helped for the comic relief in some scenes.

thebuzztube

Thoroughly enjoyed this film, if I could afford it i’d watch it over and over again. It saddens me to see that mostly to the majority of reviewers the film is a flop receiving fairly negative comments but don’t let these interfere. I really do recommend seeing this film, it’s hilarious, full of some great stunts and provides some great views of girls in swimsuits…. and of course the wonderful sights of the beach and at the end it is confirmed a sequel may be on its way – but I know some of you just want to see a topless muscly Zac Efron to drool over. A 9 for me, so what are you waiting for guys go for a splish splash in cinemas!!

Leave a comment